No party wins majority in Turkish Cypriot elections

No political party has won an overall majority in Sunday’s parliamentary elections in the self-declared Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus, Turkish state news agency Anadolu reported.

The top-polling party, the nationalist National Unity Party (UBP) led by current prime minister Hüseyin Özgürgün, polled 34.44 percent with 93 percent of the vote counted, the agency said, meaning that a coalition is almost certainly going to be necessary at the end of the count.

Six parties overcame the five percent electoral threshold to enter the 50-seat parliamentary assembly, with the UBP appearing to have won 21 seats, the left-wing Republican Society Party (CTP) with 12 seats and the newly founded centrist People’s Party with 9 seats.

That represents an 8 percent increase in the UBP’s vote and a 17 percent decrease for the CTP as compared to the previous election, Anadolu Agency said.

Only Turkey recognises the Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus, declared in 1983, after Turkish troops invaded the northern third of the Mediterranean island in 1974 after a brief Greek Cypriot coup. Efforts to unify the north with the internationally recognised Greek Cypriot south have come to nought. Thousands of Turkish troops remain posted in the north.