Turkey dismisses four Kurdish mayors on terror charges

Turkey’s Interior Ministry on Monday removed four district mayors from office in the predominantly Kurdish southeastern provinces of Diyarbakır and Van, independent news site T24 reported.

Three district mayors in Diyarbakır from the pro-Kurdish Peoples' Democratic Party (HDP) - the mayor of Kayapınar, Kezban Yılmaz, the mayor of Bismil, Orhan Ayaz, and the mayor of Kocaköy, Rojda Nazlıer - as well as the HDP mayor of Van's Erciş district, Yıldız Çetin, were replaced by state-appointees, T24 said.

Yılmaz, Ayaz and Nazlıer were detained in a police raid on their homes in the early hours of Monday while Çetin was detained on Oct. 15 due to investigations over terror charges.

Together with the latest removals, 12 mayors of HDP were replaced with administrators over alleged links to the outlawed Kurdistan Workers' Party (PKK) which has fought for Kurdish self-rule in Turkey for three decades, T24 said.