May 29 2019

Turkey’s ruling party votes down parliamentary inquiry into attacks on journalists

Turkey’s ruling Justice and Development Party (AKP) on Tuesday voted against an opposition motion for a parliamentary inquiry into attacks against five journalists in the last two weeks, Diken news site reported

Sezgin Tanrıkulu, a deputy for the Republican People's Party (CHP), submitted the motion saying the perpetrators should be identified and prosecuted, and all necessary precautions to protect journalists be taken.

Sabahattin Önkibar, a former columnist with left-wing nationalist daily Aydınlık, Hakan Denizli, founder of the newspaper Egemen, Ergin Çevik, editor in chief of news website Güney Haberci, Yavuz Selim Demirağ, a columnist for the nationalist daily Yeni Çağ, and İdris Özyol, a columnist for Yeni Yüzyıl newspaper were attacked in different parts of Turkey in less than two weeks. 

The Committee to Protect Journalists said on Sunday that all of the attacks had been in apparent retaliation for the journalists’ work.

No one has been detained in relation to the attacks. A court on Monday free on bail four people accused of attacking Önkibar in front of her house in Ankara. The journalist was hospitalised.