U.S. sanctions Turkey, China, Iraq, Russia for aiding Iran missile programme

The United States is imposing sanctions on 13 entities and individuals in China, Iraq, Russia, and Turkey for supporting Iran’s missile programme.

"This action includes new sanctions against five entities/individuals in China and Turkey for supporting Iran’s missile programme," U.S. Secretary of State Mike Pompeo said in a statement.

The sanctions were the result of a periodic review required under the Iran, North Korea, and Syria Nonproliferation Act (INKSNA), he said.

The United States pulled out of the Iran nuclear deal in 2018, reinstating waves of sanctions on Tehran.